Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies (IICT)

Category:

Over CHF 12 million to make information and communication technologies more inclusive

Providing access to information for people with disabilities is a technological challenge at a time when communication channels are multiplying. An international consortium of researchers, public and private partners, led by the University of Zurich and including the Idiap Research Institute and Icare in French-speaking Switzerland, has just received support of nearly CHF 6 million from Innosuisse, supplemented by CHF 6 million from private partners, to meet this challenge.

Having access to a simplified text, having a translation or evaluation in sign language, listening to an audio description, are all indispensable tools for many people. Despite the multiplication of communication channels, including people with disabilities is still a challenge. This is why this project brings together several partners of excellence, such as the University of Zurich, the University of Teacher Education and, on the French-speaking side, the Idiap Research Institute and the Icare Research Institute.

Complementary skills

“At Idiap, we are not only specialised in spoken language processing, but also in sign language. In this project, these two areas of expertise will be used to develop applications for evaluating signed language in the context of e-learning methods and audio descriptions,” explains Mathew Magimai-Doss, senior researcher in the speech processing research group. “With machine learning tools, for example, we could use a more direct approach to
simplifying texts for people with a mental disability. Currently, text simplification processes involve many complex iterative rules,” adds Julien Torrent, Innovation Manager at the Icare Research Institute.

Beyond scientific research, the aim is to develop tools that can be used transversally on several platforms and meet different needs. Applications range from information related to natural hazards to access to official documents. To achieve this, it is necessary, for example, to be able to simplify a text to make it understandable, while keeping its meaning, or to make a subtitle or an audio description of images. These are all scientific and technical challenges.

Public and private partners to implement the technologies Far from being limited to academic research, the project includes several partners who will be responsible for the practical implementation of the technologies developed. In collaboration with the Swiss Federation of the Deaf, several federal actors will be involved, including the Federal Office for Equality for People with Disabilities, Swiss TXT (in conjunction with the Swiss Broadcasting Corporation), the Federal Social Insurance Office, the Federal Office of Public Health, the Federal Office for Civil Protection and MeteoSwiss. The private insurer Zurich and the Austrian company Capito, which produces simplified versions of texts, are also involved in the project. The goal? To be able to communicate key information to people with disabilities. The project will start in 2022 and is planned to last 4 years under the umbrella of Innosuisse’s new Flagship initiative, which aims to support systemic innovation. It is one of the projects selected following the first call in January 2021.

The Icare research institute, based at TechnoArk in Sierre (Valais – Switzerland). Its expertise and research focuses on object identification, computer vision and machine learning. These innovations are embedded in mobile devices that can communicate and interact with multiple value-added services available in the cloud. The Icare research institute was created in 1991, on the initiative of the School of Computer Science in Sierre. Constituted as an association, its members, represented on the committee, include the State of Valais, Sierre Region, the municipality of Sierre and the HES-SO Valais-Wallis.

The Idiap research institute has been one of the world’s specialists in artificial intelligence for 30 years. Speech and visual recognition, human-computer interaction, robotics and language analysis are some of the fields of competence of the Institute. Based in Martigny, Valais, the institute is involved in local, national and international projects. The non-profit Idiap Foundation was created in 1991 by the City of Martigny, the State of Valais, the Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, the University of Geneva and Swisscom.

Breaking down communication barriers for better social inclusion

We are pleased to announce that the Swiss Innovation Promotion Agency (Innosuisse) has approved a major four-year project (total volume of 12.4 million Swiss francs) entitled “Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies” (IICT), as part of its new “Flagship” initiative. The aim of this project is to develop information and communication technologies (ICT) for people with disabilities. This Flagship targets five specific accessibility areas: text simplification, sign language translation and evaluation, automatic audio description and spoken subtitles. Within this “Flagship”, each area is broken down into sub-projects, with close links between them, thanks to common technologies, such as artificial intelligence. IICT, with its user-centred approach, will lead to innovations that will help people with hearing, visual and cognitive impairments, but also sign language learners, thus emphasising the two-way aspect of accessibility. This “Flagship” follows a participatory and inclusive approach by involving people with disabilities in all stages of the research and development cycle.

This Flagship is led by the Institute for Computational Linguistics at the University of Zurich (PI: Dr Sarah Ebling). It consists of five research partners, one of which is a foreign subcontractor, and six development partners. Together, the Flagship partners are among the most important players in the field of inclusive ICT in Switzerland.
The Flagship will start in 2022.

Flagship research partners :

  • University of Zurich, Institute for Computational Linguistics
  • ICARE Research Institute
  • Idiap Research Institute
  • Intercantonal School of Teacher Education (HfH)
  • Subcontractor : University of Surrey, UK

Enhancement partners :

  • SWISS TXT, which also represents the Swiss Broadcasting Corporation (SRG) and its radio and television stations
  • CFS GmbH (“capito”), Autriche
  • Swiss Federation of the Deaf (SGB-FSS)
  • Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA)
  • Federal Office for the Equality of People with Disabilities (BFEH)
  • Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss)
  • Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH)
  • Federal Social Insurance Office (FSIO)
  • Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP)
  • Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports
  • Office fédéral de la protection de la population OFPP
  • Zurich Insurance Company Ltd.

Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies (IICT)

Catégorie :

Description

Plus de 12 millions de francs pour rendre les technologies de l’information et de la communication plus inclusives

Proposer un accès à l’information aux personnes en situation de handicap est un défi technologique à l’heure de la multiplication des canaux de communication. Un consortium international mêlant chercheurs, partenaires publiques et privés, menés par l’Université de Zurich et incluant l’Institut de Recherche Idiap et Icare en Suisse romande vient de recevoir un soutien de près de 6 millions de francs de la part d’Innosuisse, complété par 6 millions de la part des partenaires privés, pour répondre à ce défi.

Avoir accès à un texte simplifié, disposer d’une traduction ou faire une évaluation en langue des signes, écouter une audiodescription, autant d’outils indispensables pour nombre de personnes. Malgré la multiplication des canaux de communication, inclure les personnes handicapées reste encore un défi. C’est pourquoi ce projet réunit plusieurs partenaires d’excellence, tel que l’Université de Zurich, la Haute école pédagogique spécialisée et, côté romand, l’Institut de Recherche Idiap et l’institut de recherche Icare.

Complémentarité des compétences

« A l’Idiap, nous sommes non seulement spécialisés dans le traitement du langage parlé, mais également dans le langage des signes. Dans ce projet, ces deux expertises seront utilisées pour développer des applications d’évaluation de la langue signée dans le cadre de méthodes d’apprentissage en ligne et d’audio descriptions, » explique Mathew Magimai-Doss, chercheur senior du groupe de recherche traitement de la parole. « Avec des outils de type apprentissage machine, par exemple, nous pourrions utiliser une approche plus directe pour
simplifier des textes pour les personnes avec un handicap mental. Actuellement, les processus de simplification de textes impliquent de nombreuses règles itératives complexes, » ajoute Julien Torrent, Innovation Manager à l’institut de recherche Icare.

Au-delà de la recherche scientifique, il s’agît de développer des outils pouvant être utilisés de façon transversale sur plusieurs plateformes et répondant à différents besoins. Les applications vont de l’information en lien avec les dangers naturels à l’accès aux documents officiels. Pour y parvenir, il est par exemple nécessaire de pouvoir simplifier un texte pour le rendre compréhensible, tout en gardant son sens, ou encore de faire un sous-titre ou une audio description d’images. Autant de défis scientifiques et techniques.

Des partenaires publiques et privés pour implémenter les technologies Loin de se borner à la recherche académique, le projet inclut plusieurs partenaires qui seront en charge de l’implémentation pratique des technologies développées. En collaboration avec la Fédération Suisse des Sourds, plusieurs acteurs fédéraux seront impliqués, dont le Bureau fédéral de l’égalité pour les personnes handicapées, Swiss TXT (en lien avec la SSR), l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique, l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population et MétéoSuisse. L’assureur privé Zurich et la société autrichienne Capito qui réalise des versions simplifiées de textes sont également associés au projet. Le but ? Pouvoir communiquer les informations de première importance aux personnes en situation de handicap. Le projet démarrera en 2022 et est prévu pour durer 4 ans sous l’égide de la nouvelle initiative Flagship d’Innosuisse, qui a pour objectif de soutenir l’innovation systémique. Il fait partie des projets retenus suite au premier appel en janvier 2021.

L’institut de recherche Icare, basé au TechnoArk de Sierre (Valais – Suisse). Son expertise et ses axes de recherche se concentrent sur l’identification d’objets, la vision artificielle (Computer Vision) et l’apprentissage machine (Machine Learning). Ces innovations sont intégrées au sein de dispositifs mobiles capables de communiquer et d’interagir avec de multiples services à valeur ajoutée disponibles dans le cloud. L’institut de recherche Icare a été créé en 1991, à l’initiative de l’Ecole d’informatique de Sierre. Constitué en association, il compte parmi ses membres, représentés au comité, l’Etat du Valais, Sierre Région, la commune de Sierre et la HES-SO Valais-Wallis.

L’Institut de recherche Idiap est un des spécialistes mondiaux de l’intelligence artificielle depuis 30 ans. Reconnaissance vocale et visuelle, interactions homme-machine, robotique, ou encore analyse du langage sont quelques-uns des champs de compétence de l’Institut. Basé à Martigny en Valais, l’institut est impliqué dans des projets locaux, nationaux et internationaux. La Fondation à but non lucratif Idiap a été créée en 1991 par la Ville de Martigny, l’Etat du Valais, l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, l’Université de Genève et Swisscom.

Briser les barrières de la communication pour une meilleure inclusion sociale

Nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer que l’Agence suisse pour la promotion de l’innovation (Innosuisse) a approuvé un grand projet sur quatre ans (volume total de 12,4 millions de francs suisses) intitulé « Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies » (IICT), dans le cadre de sa nouvelle initiative “Flagship”. L’objectif de ce projet est de développer des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) pour les personnes en situation de handicap. Ce “Flagship” vise cinq domaines d’accessibilité spécifiques : la simplification du texte, la traduction et l’évaluation du langage des signes, l’audio description automatique et les sous-titres parlés. Au sein de ce “Flagship”, chaque domaine se décline en sous-projet, avec des liens étroits entre eux, grâce à des technologies communes, telles que l’intelligence artificielle. IICT, avec son approche centrée sur l’utilisateur, débouchera sur des innovations qui aideront les personnes avec des déficiences auditives, visuelles, cognitives, mais aussi les apprenants du langage des signes, soulignant ainsi l’aspect bidirectionnel de l’accessibilité. Ce “Flagship” suit une approche participative et inclusive en impliquant les personnes en situation de handicap à toutes les étapes du cycle de recherche et de développement.

Ce Flagship est dirigé par l’institut de linguistique computationnelle de l’Université de Zurich (PI : Dr Sarah Ebling). Il est composé de cinq partenaires de recherche, dont un étranger, en tant que sous-traitant, ainsi que six partenaires de mise en valeur. Ensemble, les partenaires de ce “Flagship” comptent parmi les acteurs les plus importants dans le domaine des TIC inclusives en Suisse.
Le Flagship débutera en 2022.

Partenaires de recherche du Flagship :

  • Université de Zurich, Institut de linguistique computationnelle
  • Institut de recherche ICARE
  • Institut de recherche Idiap
  • Haute école intercantonale de formation des enseignants (HfH)
  • Sous-traitant : Université de Surrey, GB

Partenaires de mise en valeur :

  • SWISS TXT, qui représente également la Société suisse de radiodiffusion (SSR) et ses stations de radio et de télévision
  • CFS GmbH (« capito »), Autriche
  • Fédération suisse des sourds (SGB-FSS)
  • Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI)
  • Bureau fédéral de l’égalité pour les personnes handicapées (BFEH)
  • Office fédéral de météorologie et de climatologie (MétéoSuisse)
  • Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP)
  • Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS)
  • Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP)
  • Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport
  • Federal Office for Civil Protection FOCP
  • Zurich Compagnie d’Assurances SA