Services

Research and innovation projects

Through research projects based on computer sciences, the Icare Institute offers its expertise to support companies, private or public organisations in their innovation projects. Thanks to cantonal and federal innovation support mechanisms, the Icare research institute facilitates the emergence of new products, services or innovative processes in a wide range of activities. Our research projects may consist of one or more of the following elements: feasibility study, technology transfer, competence transfer and technology watch.

The applied research projects and innovation mandates carried out by the Icare Institute are generally based on technologies such as: computer vision, artificial intelligence, machine learning, mobile/cross-platform and communicating objects. The Icare Institute aims to bridge the gap between technology and end-users, with agile and user-centred iterative project management.

Optimisation of algorithms from research projects and industrialisation

Institut Icare’s mission is to bring functional solutions to life. We have excellent knowledge in the fields of computer science, mathematics and algorithms. Embedded approaches as well as real-time software pose great constraints on their execution speed and memory cost. During an industrialisation phase, these elements are taken into account in order to guarantee the development of solutions that are exploitable in their field of use.

We have developed skills in the field of C++ programming, particularly on smartphones, and in the low-level optimisation of algorithms. These practices are put at the service of companies and public services, which wish to go from a prototype resulting from a research project (e.g. Matlab or Python allegorisms), to a functional, optimized, industrializable and deployable code on a multitude of platforms (Windows, Linux, Mac, Android and iOS). With its years of experience, Icare stands out for its ability to port optimised programs to industry on resource-constrained hardware, particularly mobile and embedded devices.

Customisation of optical decoders

Since 2009, the Icare Institute has been implementing and maintaining a framework of optical decoders for reading : one-dimensional barcodes (EAN-8, EAN-13, UPC-A, UPC-E, EAN-128, Code 39, DataBar RSS), two-dimensional barcodes (QR Code, DataMatrix, Aztec), Swiss and European car license plates, identity documents (ID card 9303 IACO, Passport 9303 IACO, driving licence) and payment slips (BVR or QR-Facture). Our decoders, dedicated to mobile devices (iOS and Android) are among the fastest on the market. They are easy to integrate into your mobile applications to give them the ability to decode and process different standards. With the experience accumulated in this field, the Icare Institute is able to produce adapted, customised decoders that can meet your specific requirements. Do not hesitate to contact us.

Services

Projets de recherche et projets d’innovation

Via des projets de recherche, basés sur les sciences informatiques, l’institut Icare met ses compétences au soutien des entreprises, organisations privées ou publiques, pour leurs projets d’innovation. Grace à des mécanismes, cantonaux et fédéraux, d’aide à l’innovation, l’institut de recherche Icare facilite l’émergence de nouveaux produits, services ou procédés innovants, dans un large spectre d’activités. Nos projets de recherches peuvent être composés d’un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants : étude de faisabilité, transfert de technologie, transfert de compétence et veille technologique.

Les projets de recherche appliquée et mandats d’innovation, menés par l’institut Icare s’appuient généralement sur les technologies comme : la vision par ordinateur, l’intelligence artificielle, l’apprentissage machine, mobile/cross-plateforme et les objets communicants. L’institut Icare se veut le pont entre la technologie et les utilisateurs finaux, avec une gestion de projet itérative agile et centrée utilisateur.

Optimisation d’algorithmes issus de projets de recherche et industrialisation

L’Institut Icare se donne pour mission d’amener des solutions fonctionnelles en conditions réelles. Nous possédons d’excellentes connaissances dans les domaines informatiques, mathématiques et algorithmiques. Les approches embarquées ainsi que les logiciels en temps réel posent de grandes contraintes sur leur vitesse d’exécution et leur coût mémoire. Lors d’une phase d’industrialisation, ces éléments sont pris en compte afin de garantir le développement de solutions exploitables dans leur domaine d’utilisation.

Nous avons développé des aptitudes dans le domaine de la programmation C++, particulièrement sur smartphones et l’optimisation bas niveau d’algorithmes. Ces pratiques sont mises au service de entreprises et services publiques, qui désirent passer d’un prototype issu d’un projet de recherche (ex : allégorismes Matlab ou Python), à un code fonctionnel, optimisé, industrialisable et déployable sur une multitude de plateformes (Windows, Linux, Mac, Android et iOS). Fort de ses années d’expérience, Icare se distingue par sa capacité à porter dans l’industrie des programmes optimisés sur du matériel à ressources limitées, notamment les dispositifs mobiles et embarqués.

Personnalisation de décodeurs optiques

Depuis 2009, l’institut Icare, implémente et maintient un framework de décodeurs optiques permettant de lire : des codes-barres une dimension (EAN-8, EAN-13, UPC-A, UPC-E, EAN-128, Code 39, DataBar RSS), deux dimensions (QR Code, DataMatrix, Aztec), les plaques d’immatriculation automobiles suisses et européennes, les documents d’identité (Carte d’identité 9303 IACO, Passeports 9303 IACO, permis de conduire) et bulletin de versement (BVR ou QR-Facture).

Nos décodeurs, dédiés aux appareils mobiles (iOS et Android) sont parmi les plus rapides du marché. Ils sont faciles à intégrer à vos applications mobiles pour leur donner la possibilité de décoder et de traiter différents standards. Avec l’expérience accumulée dans ce domaine, l’institut Icare est en mesure de réaliser des décodeurs adaptés, personnalisés sur mesure, pouvant répondre à vos demandes concrètes. N’hésitez donc pas à nous contacter.